When We Don’t Hear Our Veggies Scream

Okay, so from the post title you might think I am all for eating meat. The truth is that I have gone through phases in my life in which I have eaten it and in which I haven’t. Of course, after watching a biased ‘Be a vegetarian’ documentary, nobody wants to eat meat…except for fish, maybe… But after watching a factual documentary about the local and mass production of meat, the viewer may feel like eating locally grown (and loved) animals is okay. Or that hunting for food is okay, and that eating mass-produced animals still is pretty horrible.

Or not.

This brings me to my point: There are so many reasons why people have their food lifestyles. Be it a regional reason, a cultural reason, respecting the people who host you when you travel, respecting people who visit you, your ethical understanding of things, your need for Vitamins such as B12, etc… etc… etc…

One thing I do not support is judgment. Why do some people judge others who eat differently than they do? This post is sparked by a social media post a friend shared today about being at a vegan restaurant. The post came with the hashtag #Compassionforanimalsmakeyouahuman (Compassion for animals makes you a human). Though I didn’t have to say this, I… had to say “we other folk are human too”, and I mean that a person can be an omnivore and still be compassionate toward animals. In response, my friend said of course, and asked why eat animals when there are so many other options.

Like I mentioned up there somewhere, here are varied reasons, but really every single food we eat is alive at one point. The only difference is that other animals die at the point they are killed, and we are more sensitive to their smell and the sounds they make, and they have eyes so we can see what we recognise as one thing or the other (suffering). However, plants, once extracted from the earth are still alive and we eat them as such. The only difference is that we aren’t attuned to the smell and sound of their screams or fear or whatever they may be feeling that we don’t understand. So my point is that we tend to veer the story to please or match our ‘wanted’ representation of self

Do we stop to think that we are essentially eating our cousins? Have you looked at how closely the banana is related to you? The only difference is that we aren’t attuned to the smell and sound of their screams, or fear, or whatever they may be feeling that we don’t understand. So my point is that we tend to veer the story to please or match our ‘wanted’ representation of self 😊 There are SO many ways in which we can show our understanding and agreement in the fact that we, all of creation, are related and that we should care for creation. When one wants to get moral/ethical about it, though, then you wonder…what is what? What is the difference between the person who eats meat but loves animals and is a good human being, and one who doesn’t eat animals but is unkind and presumptuous or feels more spiritual than others because they feel they have a superior understanding of creation? i.e. of the lack of ability

What is the difference between the person who eats meat but loves animals, takes care of them, and is a good human being, and one who doesn’t eat animals but is unkind and presumptuous or feels more spiritual than others because they feel they have a superior understanding of creation? i.e. of the lack of ability of hearing the vegetables and salad ingredients scream. Who is better? And when you want to talk about environmental issues, I do not negate the negative impact overproduction of animals for food is on Planet Earth, but let’s also not negate the negative impact the overproduction of produce such as fruits and vegetables has on Planet Earth; e.g. deforestation of the Amazon (though it is not the only reason, it is a highly impactful one).

I have tried being vegan, vegetarian, paleo eating, etc. One thing I laugh at is when people get judgemental about other people. It’s just like… why?

So what this Facebook post made me think about is that I don’t understand why anyone is more human than the next human when it comes to what food they eat. As I currently eat meat, I know the good flavours of salad are actually its ingredients’ screams. Though I missed the animals’ screams, I am aware the oyster, salmon, chicken, or cow on my plate was killed because of my want or need for meat.

Please, everyone who doesn’t agree, I am not trying to have a negative or accusatory conversation and am sorry if any of this comes off that way 😃

If you’d like to see any reference to what I am saying about plants, you can watch In the Mind of Plants. There is this article on Scientific American, as well, that discuss if plants think, and I am sure there are other resources online. Let’s all take a look.

Leave a Reply

