“Someone Almost Walked Off With All of My Stuff”: My Sister’s Story of Home Invasion

As we were sitting around, some of us having just gotten off from work on Christmas Day (2013), some of us enjoying a few days off from work and school, all of us relaxed as much as life allows, wondering if we would see all the family members around the Tampa area in the days to come….as all this was going on, something awful was happening at my sister’s house. Christmas time has been chaotic and often rushed; what with people looking for good deals to buy gifts for as many friends & family members as possible. Christmas time has been chaotic and often rushed; what with people looking for the perfect ingredients to make THE perfect Christmas dinner…one to make grandmama proud, or to make her and your favorite uncle proud as you so well cooked your favorite dish… just as they used to make it. Christmas time has been relaxed and…spiritual; what with midnight mass, family time, a day off from work, a warm house full of the delicious smells…smells that your olfactory senses use to take you back to your childhood; hopefully to happy and warm memories. Christmas time has been a time in which there is a generic assumption that people all around you just want to be nice! The air feels sweeter like a baby’s embrace and just for a moment…just for a moment in this beautiful and confusing life…you close your eyes and rest your head against the baby in your arms who is hugging your whole being.

As my sister is busy getting everyone an awesome Groupon deal, and celebrating her youngest daughter’s birthday; as she is visiting with us and not listening to us telling her she needs to take one or two (or 5) things off of her plate ’cause she is always doing so much; as she makes us a healthy breakfast, spends time with her husband, jokes around and is happy about her new phone, a group of unknown persons are breaking into her house; into her home.

She is a professor at Benedict College, in Columbia, South Carolina, and has worked and lived on campus for over ten years. She has lived in this home with her two young girls, and has actively been a contributing member for the betterment of her community. Her name is Dr. Sybil Rosado.

The thieves entered the home through a bedroom window (police said), and then ran through the house. Once they figured out no one was coming, they felt safe behind the closed fence & gate and took their time to rob my sister’s home. As you have or will see in the video, my sister is a techie..a nerd..a gadget lover…and so having a DVR set up was a minimal thing. This very minimal ‘thing’ ended up revealing some extremely unsettling news: The thieves were in her home for about four days!

Not only had they stolen and vandalized items in her home, they….stayed there…for days! My heart aches at the heaviness that her heart must have felt when she received the news and then figured this last bit of the invasion. They made the invasion a vacation! I mean, who does that? Yes, they did!

Besides stealing her and her children’s clothing, her children’s toys, everyone’s shoes, heirlooms and other jewelry, food, financial information, appliances, and thousands of dollars woth of electronics (remember…tech nerd), they also damaged pictures, albums, and folders. Why would someone destroy a picture? Haven’t they heard of ‘A picture is worth a thousand words’? Memories stay in your heart & mind, but pictures are such an awesome addition to story telling!

My sister spends frugally. She works extremely hard, takes great care of her children and their futures, spends as much free time as possible with her husband, and makes sure to LIVE as much as she can afford to, as opposed to just survive. She gives & gives: time-wise and financially. She rarely asks for assistance from anyone, and I really can’t verbalize how severely unjust I feel this event to have been. I am sharing this part because I really want to let you know that my sis is a regular person…just like you and I. I mean, she is extraordinary, but a regular hard-working mom.

She put together a video, as a shot-in-the-dark artistic way of appealing to the thieves to please return her heirlooms. Her wedding ring, that of her mother, and a few necklaces that have been in the family and are unique pieces of the family’s history…to her ancestors’ story & journey. Many things have come and gone; she was keeping these things to pass on to her daughters, so they may keep a small piece of history with them and maybe pass on to the next generation.

Please watch the video. Please share the video. Someone Almost Walked Off With All of Her Stuff….almost all of it, except for her daughters’ and her life. I am SO thankful they weren’t there.

Have you or one you loved been in a situation like this? If so, I am truly sorry, and I hope you are recovering OK. Please share your story, if it’s not too personal.

Thank you for reading.

20140131-012453.jpg

20140131-012428.jpg

20140131-012706.jpg

20140131-012531.jpg

20140131-012807.jpg

20140131-012828.jpg

20140131-012848.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. The video link doesn’t show. Please visit Youtube and type ‘Sybil Sez: Someone almost walked off with all of my stuff’. Alternatively, try to see if these links work: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g92S_vd5d6A&sns=em or http://youtu.be/g92S_vd5d6A
    Thank you!

  2. sally qazi says:

    Oh my dears. I deeply feel for you. Dear sister Sybil I would like to comfort you with the following prayer
    COMFORT
    O God! Refresh and gladden my spirit. Purify my heart. Illumine my powers. I lay all my affairs in Thy hand. Thou art my Guide and my Refuge. I will no longer be sorrowful and grieved; I will be a happy and joyful being. O God! I will no longer be full of anxiety, nor will I let trouble harass me. I will not dwell on the unpleasant things of life.
    O God! Thou art more friend to me than I am to myself. I dedicate myself to Thee, O Lord.
    ‘Abdu’l-Bahá
    I understand your anguish because I underwent something similar over a longer period of time, though I will go into details here. One day I just resigned myself to lose everything to these heartless thieves. But God in His kind mercy has given me more and although I can not replace photos and mementos, I can talk about them to my family and I conserve the love they evoked in me. I also learnt a lesson in detachment. atight hug to you all. Sally

Leave a Reply

